According to the Michigan Penal Code Section 750.520(d), a guilty verdict will be rendered when an individual has committed criminal sexual conduct in the third degree when the individual had engaged in sexual penetration with another and certain circumstances exists. The following circumstances can lead to a charge of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree if the victim is between the ages of 13 to 15 or the offender coerced the victim into the sexual penetration. If the individual engaging in sexual penetration is related to blood with the victim, they can be charged with sexual conduct in the third degree. Another potential circumstance that could lead to an individual being charged with sexual conduct in the third degree would be if the victim is between the ages of 16 to 18 and was a student who was sexually penetrated by one of his or her treaters or school administrator.
If one is convicted of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree, they will be found guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years.
An example of CSC 3 would be, be Michigan’s version of statutory rape. In our state, a CSC 3 would be a 19 year-old and a 15-year old having consensual sex. This is deemed CSC 3 because we have penetration though there is no force or coercion. The current legislation states that one must be at least 16 years of age to consent. (Note: This may change to 17 years of age with the “Raise the Age” Plan)